LIVERPOOL VS MANCHESTER CITY - 11 apr 2011

Liverpool Football Club - Games

Postby maypaxvobiscum » Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:18 am

we've got only 4 fit defenders in Carragher, Skrtel, Kyrgiakos and Wilson, all of whom are centre backs by trade. not a single one of our fullbacks are available as  Insua,  Degen, Darby and Konchesky are all out on loan and Kelly, Aurelio and Johnson are all injured. I reckon Kenny would revert to a 3-man defense. OR perhaps take the risk and throw Robinson or Flanagan into the picture?

having 3 central defenders could be a good thing as the City attackers love to cut inside, especially Silva. we could crowd out the space and deter any threats to goal. Gerrard is injured is he? we look so void of options when we don't have him around and i'm not sure which Raul is gonna turn up. based on the current squad, in comparison to the attacking options City has, best we could hope for is a draw.

i would play the following players and formation. i reckon Kuyt should be played deeper this time round as his energy would be able to help out Carragher who is sure to have a hard time with the speed of the City players. Cole and Suarez are incredibly tricky players and would love to see them link up together on the left side.

------------------Reina

------Carragher--Skrtel--Soto

Kuyt--------------------------Robinson
----------Meireles---Lucas
-----------------Cole

----------Carroll----Suarez

OR

-----------------Reina

Carragher---Skrtel---Soto---Wilson

Kuyt-----Meireles----Lucas----Cole

-----------Carroll----Suarez

OR

------------Reina

Carragher---Skrtel---Soto

-------Lucas---Poulson

Kuyt-------Meireles----Cole

-------Carroll---Suarez

we're desperate for a commanding defensive midfielder. it's clear as day that Spearing and Poulson are not gonna make it and Lucas is average. having said that, i would go for the 3rd formation posted above.
maypaxvobiscum

Postby ethanr » Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:17 am