The future is bright - Best players have years in them

Liverpool Football Club - General Discussion

Postby Red » Fri Feb 06, 2004 1:31 am

Unless Owen decides to pack it in, our triumvent of star quality is looking good for the future.

Owen, Gerrard, Kewell.

It struck me while playing TCM(a conf team no LFC) that in 2007 they were 26 and 27 years old respectively while Giggs, Scholes were 33, RVN was 30.

I'm no expert, but as far as world cups go, a mature side of 26-28 is supposedly the ideal mixture of youth and experience.
A player is supposedly at the peak of his career during these 3 years, the former years are developing and the latter, declining physically.

Now add to that, Pongolle, Le Tallec, Baros, Carrager all play to potential, we have the makings of a very good side.

I dont want this thread to turn into another Houlier debate, blah blah but houlier will only stuff it. Lets just talk about our team and assume management will change at sometime. What matters is we have a TEAM and not a bunch of talented individuals. Forget ManU, Arsenal....we are Liverpool, we will do things differently and be successful, we dont have to emulate them for success, because if we try to emulate them, we will be one step behind.
Football is a simple game, all you have to do is pass the ball to a player in a red shirt.
Red
LFC Elite Member

Postby Cleman » Fri Feb 06, 2004 5:50 am

but don't forget ManU also have talented young players....Ronaldo, Fletcher, Djemba-Djemba, O'Shea and Arsenal with Aliadiere, Reyes etc....
Cleman

Postby Red » Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:02 am

yes they do, ones of the age of Latellac and pongolle, but not of the calibre and experience of kewell, gerrard and owen.

My point is, if the trio stay together, we could see something special in years to come. IF I were manager, Id sure make them the nucleus, build a style and team around them...
Football is a simple game, all you have to do is pass the ball to a player in a red shirt.
Red
LFC Elite Member