More great news - Rafa exclusive

Liverpool Football Club - General Discussion

Postby 84-1106852058 » Thu May 05, 2005 3:33 pm

News 

I'll stay for 20 years - Benitez May 5 2005

EXCLUSIVE by Chris Bascombe, Liverpool Echo

LIVERPOOL boss Rafa Benitez has confidently predicted this month's Champions League final will be the first of many in a '20 year' managerial career at Anfield.

Benitez has his sights on creating a legacy the equal of his illustrious predecessors, and with comments which will thrill his adoring followers says he hopes to spend two decades at the helm at Liverpool.

The Reds will face AC Milan in Istanbul on May 25 following the Italians' dramatic 3-3 away goal victory over PSV Eindhoven.

But whatever the outcome later this month, Benitez is sure he'll lead his club into many more European Cup finals.

"As a manager I'm young and if I'm at Liverpool for another 20 years, I hope to reach many more finals and win many more trophies," said Benitez.

"I don't know if I'll be here that long, but I hope so. When you're happy here, you're winning and you see the supporters, why wouldn't you want to stay for so long?

"I was expecting the club to be like this when I joined, but only when I experienced nights like the Arsenal and Olympiakos matches did I realise how good it was.

"On Tuesday people spoke about the St Etienne match in 1977, but for us this is more important because it's about now and the future. I've never seen supporters like those against Chelsea. It was fantastic."
84-1106852058

Postby Woollyback » Thu May 05, 2005 3:35 pm

Rafa for prime minister :bowdown
b*ll*c*ks and s*i*e
Woollyback
>> LFC Elite Member <<

Postby Lando_Griffin » Thu May 05, 2005 3:49 pm

NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If he became PM, we'd have to get Moris as manager!!!!!lol!!!!! Up the 'pool! :laugh:

Rafa Benitez - An unfinished Legend.
Lando_Griffin
>> LFC Elite Member <<

Postby adamnbarrett » Thu May 05, 2005 5:33 pm