Our backroom staff - Off lfc.tv

Liverpool Football Club - General Discussion

Postby god_bless_john_houlding » Wed Feb 06, 2008 4:55 am

In the first of a series of interviews with Rafa's backroom staff, Liverpoolfc.tv talks to Angel Vales, whose role as head of technical analysis puts him at the forefront of bringing new and innovative ideas to Melwood. 
Tell us a bit about your career before Liverpool?

You could say there are two spheres my career has taken. Firstly, I have an academic background in that I was a lecturer in sporting excellence at the University of La Coruna. Then I have worked at various clubs in Spain and Portugal. I was at Tenerife.

How are you finding life in England?

Overall I'm very happy both at work and in my personal life. I'm in a nice, quiet area on the outskirts of Liverpool. It's nice and calm here, and everyone I've met has been friendly. The weather is like La Coruna, so I am used to that. In terms of the work, well if you were to ask anyone back in Spain about English football, the first club that would come to their mind would be Liverpool. It has prestige and there's certain sporting values regarding success and the will to do well which are associated with Liverpool. I am surrounded here by a team of people, a group of players and staff, who are working to maintain that prestige.

How did you come to join Liverpool?

The fundamental person in me coming here last summer was Rafa Benitez. It wasn't the first time he'd shown an interest in me coming here. We go back 20 years both in sport and education – we studied together at university and we've been managers on opposite dugouts throughout our careers. Throughout that we've maintained a personal and professional relationship. I hadn't been able to come here before because of personal circumstances but now the university has legally allowed me to come here for a length of time without prejudicing my opportunity to go back to being a full-time lecturer.