Talk lfc interview with chris bascombe - Good read

Liverpool Football Club - General Discussion

Postby jim_morrison_supported_liverpool » Mon Sep 27, 2004 11:00 am

How did you get started in journalism and if you didn't make it as a journalist, what would you have liked to do?

I always wanted to be a reporter. I used to read Brian Reade's ECHO column religiously. He now works for the Daily Mirror and is still one of the best, if not the best, columnists around.
I studied English and Sociology at the University of Liverpool, completed a post-graduate course in journalism in Cornwall, worked for free on numerous newspapers to get work experience and eventually became a news reporter for the Chester Chronicle. I moved from there to The Kop Magazine in 1998, which the ECHO produces. I stopped writing that in 2000. I've been doing this job ever since.

So is this your dream job? Would you ever want to go to a national paper or is this the ultimate gig for you?

It is a dream job, but whether I'll still be doing it in 30 years, I've no idea. Of course it would be great to be wanted by a national newspaper because it would mean I'm doing well. I'm sure whatever line of work you're in, you're ambitious. But I'm very grateful the Liverpool ECHO is happy with me.

If you could swap jobs with anyone at the club, who would it be?

I'd like to wear Harry Kewell's number seven shirt and I wouldn't mind an anonymous place on the Liverpool board so I could get more exclusives.

It was great having you doing the co-commentary at the Wrexham game for the official site. Did you enjoy doing it and do you have any plans to do it again?

The website asked me to do it. I'm sure if they asked me again, and I wasn't working to a tight deadline, I would. I don't ask to these things.

Is it hard to remain objective when you are both a fan and a reporter?