Book recommendations - A list of 'must read' books

Please use this forum for general Non-Football related chat

Postby babu » Mon Apr 23, 2007 7:21 am

Have you come across a book that you reckon everyone on the planet should read? Not one you just enjoyed, but one you think would be of interest or would help just about everyone?

Obviously on a LFC forum, a good autobiography would be of interest to everyone. But what else?

Post you book reccomendations in here.

Ok here's one:

In the Messi thread, The Manhattan Project listed a few people you could consider guinuises. That got me thinking about a book i read. I love all science, i work in the field of technology and still keep up to date with journals mainly in bio-chemistry. But i must say when i read Bill Bryson's book titled A Short History of Nearly Everything it blew me away. (note: its not a text book and does contain some factual inaccuracies)

Its not so much the knowledge in the book, but the way he explains it. I remmeber really struggling to understand certain concepts when i was at school and wishing the teacher would say he/she didn't know the answer, when they didn't. Especially entertaining is his description of the personal lives of some of science's greatest heroes, all to be taken with a pinch of salt, but funny nonetheless.

I would reccomend this book to anyone over 12 years and under 80.

babu
>> LFC Elite Member <<

Postby red37 » Mon Apr 23, 2007 7:28 am

tis a good read that Bab. Ive got it in PB and audiobook and the thing never fails to stir up all kinds of questions and revelations.

Personally i like Pratchett and Asimov. Oh and Kes  :D

TITANS of HOPE
red37
LFC Guru Member

Postby Effes » Mon Apr 23, 2007 7:41 am

If anyone is a single dad I highly recommend:

The Love Secrets of Don Juan by Tim Lott.

It's brilliant, and very funny.
Matt McQueen - Liverpool 1892-1928.