Trabelsi? - Surely not...

Liverpool Football Club - The Rumour Mill

Postby JC_81 » Tue Jul 04, 2006 11:17 am

Skysports are reporting that talks are at an advanced stage to bring out-of-contract Tunisian right back Hatem Trabelsi to Liverpool from Ajax.

Don't know a hell of a lot about this guy apart from him being highly rated abroad, 29 years old and that he almost joined Arsenal a few seasons back.

But why a right back?  At 29 years old he is hardly an up and coming understudy for Finnan, yet I can't see him completely replacing Finnan either.  Then there's Kromkamp at the club too, does this mean the Dutchman is on his way out already?

Or is this a ploy from Benitez once again to get Sevilla to drop the Alves price.  Although it looks like Alves would be right mid for us, he's a right back by trade so could Benitez be suckering Sevilla in to thinking he's switched targets?  Normally I'd say this rumour was made up, but skysports don't usually run a story unless there's at least some truth in it.
Last edited by JC_81 on Tue Jul 04, 2006 11:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
JC_81
>> LFC Elite Member <<

Postby clik » Tue Jul 04, 2006 11:25 am

i think he can push up right side and play CB but i will be surprised if he comes Houllier wanted him about 5 yrs ago
Dreams do come true......Istanbul 2005
clik

Postby 2520years » Tue Jul 04, 2006 11:39 am

I put this in the rumour thread a couple of weeks ago.  I think it must be a ploy from Rafa if it's true.  The Alves deal seems to have totally stalled, not on the price, but the date of payments.  £10.5m still seems expensive to me, but I'm told the guy is class at right back and right wing.
My earliest memory.
2520years

Postby red37 » Tue Jul 04, 2006 11:57 am

things cant surely be this desperate.. we may as well keep hold of and use occasionally the impressive antonio barragan. in this league and in this club where he apparantly has a vested interest due to being employed by it!!