Intresting take on the gerrard saga - Thanks to peter evo on rawk

Liverpool Football Club - General Discussion

Postby Leonmc0708 » Sat Dec 11, 2004 6:45 pm

I have plagurised this from an incredible writer I have the pleasure of sitting next to in "the middle of the Kop" this season:

Tommy Smith and Emlyn Hughes interviewed by the Daily Mirror August 1972

Frank McGhee (Daily Mirror): Well lads, here we are about to embark on the 1972-’73 season.  What are your hopes and ambitions for this season?

Emlyn: Frank, I’ve been with this club for five and a half years now.  In that time, we’ve won nothing, absolutely nothing, not even that League Cup thingy with the three handles.  I’m getting a bit annoyed about it.  Not sure that the Manager’s doing everything the right way. I’m not even sure I like the players I’ve got alongside me.  I’m a senior professional at this club and as such feel I have the right to say these things.  It’s not that I actually don’t personally like other players, apart from Smithy that is, everybody knows we hate each other although we have a great mutual respect for each other as players and professionals, it’s just that they’re not good enough. I’ve got to tell you Frank, if this club doesn’t win anything this season I’m off!  I mean, we haven’t played in the European Cup in my time here.  This Inter Cities Fairs Cup, renamed Uefa Cup or something I do believe from the start of this season, is all well and good but come on, it’s a second rate competition.  I don’t want to be playing in second rate competitions.  I want to be playing in the top competition every season.  I want to be winning things.  If I can’t achieve it at this club then maybe I’ll have to move on to clubs that are winning things such as Arsenal, Leeds or Derby County. I was with all the Derby, Leeds and Arsenal lads with England in the Home Championships and summer tour. Todd and McFarland were into me about what a great manager Clough is and how I’d win loads with them.