Bob Paisley Commemoration Research Project for St. Peters

For new members to introduce themselves - Guest Book

Postby PatrickMcG » Thu May 22, 2014 5:58 pm

Hi everyone,

I am a second year student at the university of Chester conducting a research project on the life and managerial career of Bob Paisley for St Peters Church, Woolton. I'm writing in this forum just to gain an insight from Liverpool fans themselves of the opinions and perceptions of this great manager for which I can implement in my project. The research gathered will possibly be published on a visitors booklet for St. Peters. What better way to find out about this man than from the very people for which his career had such a profound impact on. I also encourage International Fans to post comments as I think it would be a good way to present how his managerial career had a worldwide influence as well as a national one. Thanks  :)
PatrickMcG
LFC newBie

Postby Reg » Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:14 am

The fact is, most fans these days aren't old enough to know the man and those who are, can't remember. And of course what we as fans knew of Bob in the pre internet and pre match interview days was very limited anyway.

Bob was a the complete opposite of today's typical manager. Lived in a simple house with a low key lifestyle. He lived for football in a quiet and very modest manner,  knew what he wanted but was said to be ruthless in dropping players when they didn't live up to his expectations. He communicated with the fans and the city of Liverpool through the Echo. Liverpool was his world and europe meant excursions overseas.

Football needs more men like Whispering Bob, the EPL need more men like him and Anfield needs more men like him. Bob was the greatest manager LFC ever had. Either you experienced his quiet manner or you will struggle to grasp what he was about.